The Ten Commandments

God gave Moses the Ten Commandments on Mount Sinai to serve as principles of moral behavior for the human race. The Ten Commandments of God are the foundation of the moral code and legal system of justice for Western Christian civilization.

The Decalogue is recorded in both the Books of Exodus 20:1-17 and Deuteronomy 5:6-21, two of the five Books of Moses (also known as the Torah, Law, or Pentateuch). God gave Moses the Ten Commandments on two tablets of stone on Mount Sinai in the Book of Exodus, which are the moral expression of the Sinai Covenant between God and his people the Israelites. Moses recounted the Ten Commandments of God to the Israelites in the Book of Deuteronomy.

  • Commandment 1

  • Thou shalt have no other gods before me.
  • Commandment 2

  • Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image, or any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth: Thou shalt not bow down thyself to them, nor serve them: for I the LORD thy God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children unto the third and fourth generation of them that hate me; And shewing mercy unto thousands of them that love me, and keep my commandments.
  • Commandment 3

  • Thou shalt not take the name of the LORD thy God in vain; for the LORD will not hold him guiltless that taketh his name in vain.
  • Commandment 4

  • Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy. Six days shalt thou labour, and do all thy work: But the seventh day is the sabbath of the LORD thy God: in it thou shalt not do any work, thou, nor thy son, nor thy daughter, thy manservant, nor thy maidservant, nor thy cattle, nor thy stranger that is within thy gates: For in six days the LORD made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that in themis, and rested the seventh day: wherefore the LORD blessed the sabbath day, and hallowed it.
  • Commandment 5

  • Honour thy father and thy mother: that thy days may be long upon the land which the LORD thy God giveth thee.
  • Commandment 6

  • Thou shalt not kill.
  • Commandment 7

  • Thou shalt not commit adultery.
  • Commandment 8

  • Thou shalt not steal.
  • Commandment 9

  • Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbour.
  • Commandment 10

  • Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’ s house, thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s wife, nor his manservant, nor his maidservant, nor his ox, nor his ass, nor any thing that is thy neighbour’s.